potty training in one day

Supplies to get:

-A lot of candy, snacks, kool aid, juice, sweet and salty things

-Underwear (heavy ones for first couple of days and normal ones)

-Plastic cover pants to go over the underwear for naps and night

-An apron for you to wear with pockets to put treats in (instant rewards for going in potty)

-Potty seat for toilet, stool and portable potty chair (so they can decide which to use)

-Poster board (you need to make a calling chart.  Something where they can see to choose who to call when they go potty, photos helpful) * I have used scrapbook pages before just to save on prep time.  Confession – I didn’t do that this time.  I did not have time.  Instead I made a list for myself of who to call and then Ady decided by the names I said.  If she wasn’t my fourth one, I would have gone all out.  That’s my excuse anyway.🙂

-Baby wet doll – *I had a hard time finding one of these.  I had one with the first two, but with Drew and Ady I just used one of the dolls we had around the house.  The point is to have the doll go pee pee in the potty to get your child excited.  I just sneaked a medicine dropper full of water behind the doll and pretended she peed.  It worked fine.  It’s up to you.

-Something to clean the “oopsies” with. * There is probably a better way, but I use an ammonia and water mixture in a squirt bottle and Febreeze when it is on my rugs (that can’t be washed) or carpet.  Or you could just hang out on the tile for the majority of the day.  That is a safe place!  You will need something to clean up the carpet anyway.  It’s bound to happen.

-Don’t forget about treats for you.  This is important.  You are going to NEED them!  Coke, chocolate and potato chips are always on my list.

Very IMPORTANT rules not to break

-It should be just you and the child you are potty training ALL day – no interruptions  *I understand when you have multiple children it can sometimes be hard to find a place for them go, especially when they are not school age.   See if a family member or good friend can take them.  Maybe your husband can take the day off work or plan it for when he has the day off.  I have done all of those. I can not tell you enough how important it is to have it be JUST the two of you all day.  And when I say all day, I mean until dinner time or later.  Plan on pizza for dinner!  (My friend Sara brought us dinner.  I was very lucky).  Not only is it easier to teach your child when you are one on one with out interruptions, but they feel so important when they have you all to themselves.  Especially on a day like this.  Ok, I’m off my soap box.  Moving on.

-Do not answer the phone or the door.  This is not the day to chat on the phone or text. I always tell the people I communicate with regularly that I will be unreachable.  There will be moments of boredom, but I promise you, the second you get into a conversation or get lost in texting you will have a pee or poop mess to clean up for sure.  It’s all about staying focused and not being interrupted. 

عرض الشرائح هذا يتطلب تفعيل جافاسكربت.

About childbehaviorblog

coordinator of child welfare Caritas Egypt

Posted on يناير 5, 2013, in Topics in English, الرئيسية and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. أضف تعليقاً .

أضف تعليقاً

